ExoMars

ExoMars is a scientific and technological programmeme initiated by the European Space Agency (ESA) for the exploration of Mars. The main scientific objective is to determine whether life once existed or still exists on the “red planet”. OHB is a member of the European industrial syndicate which has been selected to execute the mission.

The purposes of the ExoMars programme are to

  • study the biological environment on Mars’ surface and to search for any evidence of present or former life there,
  • ascertain any hazards which may be significant for a manned landing on the planet’s surface,
  • add to general knowledge of Mars.

In addition, different technologies are to be developed for ExoMars and will play an important role in future manned and unmanned missions.

These entail

  • landing heavy payloads on the planet’s surface
  • surface mobility

The ExoMars programme provides for two missions to Mars, one in 2016 and the other in 2020. The 2016 mission comprises a Mars orbiter and a landing module. The orbiter will be transporting the landing module to Mars. The main objective is to test the landing technology.

The orbiter will be studying the martian atmosphere in detail and also act as a data relay satellite for both missions.

A second mission will be launched in 2020 to land a fixed Russian station and a European rover with a mass of 350 kg on the surface of the planet.

The station and the rover will be transported to Mars on board a carrier. The scientific instruments fitted to the rover will take samples of the ground down to a depth of two meters and examine them to determine their mineralogical, organic and geochemical composition. The results will help to clarify the extremely interesting scientific question as to whether there is or ever has been any life on Mars and provide the basis for future Mars missions. The orbiter for the 2016 mission will collect the scientific data from the planet’s surface and relay it to the earth.

The technological objectives of the mission will establish the foundations for future Mars missions under an international exploration programme.

OHB System has been participating in ExoMars since the commencement of the industrial definition studies. The 2016 mission is currently performing with the TGO in a martian orbit, while the 2020 mission is entering Phase B. Within the European industrial syndicate, OHB System is co-prime and was responsible for developing the orbiter module for the 2016 mission, including the system responsibility for the propulsion system and the mechanical and thermal subsystem. OHB System is to act as prime for the carrier and several instruments of the Rover for the 2020 mission.

ExoMars

ExoMars ist ein wissenschaftliches und technologisches Programm der europäischen Raumfahrtagentur ESA zur Erkundung des Mars. Das wissenschaftliche Hauptziel ist die Frage, ob auf dem Roten Planeten einmal Leben existiert hat oder noch existiert.
OHB ist Teil des europäischen Industrie-Konsortiums, das für die Implementierung der Mission ausgewählt wurde.

Die Ziele des ExoMars Programms sind:

  • die biologische Umwelt des Marsbodens studieren und dort nach früherem oder gegenwärtigem Leben suchen
  • das Erkennen von Gefahren, die bei einer bemannten Marslandung von Bedeutung sein könnten
  • die allgemeinen Erkenntnisse über den Mars steigern

Des Weiteren sollen für ExoMars unterschiedliche Technologien entwickelt werden. Diese Technologien sind ebenfalls für spätere unbemannte und bemannte Missionen von Bedeutung. Diese sind:

  • Landung von schweren Nutzlasten auf dem Mars
  • Mobilität auf der Marsoberfläche

Das ExoMars Programm sieht 2 Missionen zum Mars im Jahr 2016 und 2020 vor. Die Mission im Jahr 2016 besteht aus einen Marsorbiter und einem Landemodul. Der Orbiter bringt das Landemodul zum Mars. Hier ist das Hauptziel, die Technologien für die Landung zu erproben.

Der Orbiter wird die Mars-Atmosphäre detailliert untersuchen und fungiert zudem für beide Missionen als Daten-Relais Satellit.

2020 startet eine zweite Mission bei dem eine feste Russische Station und ein Europäischer Rover mit 350 kg Masse auf dem Mars landen werden.

Die Station und der Rover werden von einem Carrier zum Mars transportiert. Die auf dem Rover untergebrachten wissenschaftlichen Instrumente werden Bodenproben vom Mars, die in einer Tiefe von bis zu zwei Metern entnommen werden, hinsichtlich ihrer mineralogischen, organischen und geochemischen Zusammensetzung untersuchen. Die Ergebnisse werden einerseits helfen, die hoch interessante wissenschaftliche Frage nach der Existenz des Lebens auf dem Mars zu klären und andererseits die Grundlage für künftige Mars-Missionen schaffen. Die wissenschaftlichen Daten von der Oberfläche werden vom Orbiter der 2016 Mission empfangen und zur Erde weitergeleitet.

Die technologischen Missionsziele werden die Grundlage für künftige Mars-Missionen im Rahmen eines internationalen Mars-Explorationsprogramms schaffen.

Die OHB System AG ist seit dem Beginn der industriellen Definitionsstudien an ExoMars beteiligt. Die 2016 Mission mit dem befindet sich heute mit dem TGO in einer Mars-Umlaufbahn. Die 2020 Mission geht in Phase B. Innerhalb des europäischen Industrie-Konsortiums nimmt OHB System die Rolle des Unterauftragnehmers für die Entwicklung des Orbiter-Moduls der 2016 Mission durch Übernahme der Systemverantwortung für das Antriebssystem und das Mechanische – und Thermische Subsystem wahr. Für die 2020 Mission ist OHB System als Hauptauftragnehmer für den Carrier und für zahlreiche Instrumente des Mars-Rovers vorgesehen.