Environmental Mapping and Analysis Program (EnMAP)

Among the key challenges humanity is facing today are the impacts of climate change and an efficient and sustainable use of the available resources. The Environmental Mapping and Analysis Program (EnMAP) has been conceived by Germany’s DLR space administration in order to gather data on our evolving use of Earth.

On the side of data generation, the goal of the program is to collect hyperspectral images of the Earth’s surface, essentially taking pictures in over 200 ‘colors’ ranging from the visible to the infrared spectrum, while still ensuring a relatively high ground resolution of 30 m. These images then allow the program’s scientists to compare them with spectral characteristics of different molecules, extracting information on the chemical composition of the surveyed cities, farmlands, oceans and other areas.

Through the following data processing, the groundbreaking imagery of the EnMAP spacecraft will be applied to investigate a variety of urgent issues, including:

  • Climate change impacts and measures
  • Water availability and quality
  • Changes in land use and land cover
  • Availability and use of natural resources
  • Biodiversity and ecological stability
  • Natural disasters and risk assessments.

Partners

Based on OHB System AG’s extensive expertise in the development of optical instruments, the company has been contracted by the German Space Agency DLR to develop the program’s entire space segment. This includes both the novel and extremely challenging hyperspectral imager as well as the satellite platform, which is derived from OHB System's highly successful SAR Lupe mission.

Picture: STDM of the instrument optical unit in a clean room at OHB System's Munich site

EnMAP (Environmental Mapping and Analysis Program)
EnMAP (Environmental Mapping and Analysis Program)

Environmental Mapping and Analysis Program (EnMAP)

Zu den zentralen Herausforderungen der Menschheit zählen der Klimawandel und die effiziente und nachhaltige Nutzung unserer Erde. Vor diesem Hintergrund hat das Raumfahrtmanagement des DLR das Environmental Mapping and Analysis Program (EnMAP) ins Leben gerufen, um Daten über die Nutzung der Erde zu sammeln.


Zur Aufnahme der nötigen Daten ist es das Ziel des Projekts, hochauflösende hyperspektrale Aufnahmen der Erdoberfläche zu machen. Konkret bedeutet dies eine Abbildung der Erde in über 200 verschiedenen "Farben" vom sichtbaren bis hin zum infraroten Licht mit einer Bodenauflösung von 30 m. Diese Bilder werden dann im Rahmen des Programms von verschiedenen Wissenschaftlern im Hinblick auf die spektralen Fingerabdrücke von verschiedenen Stoffen und Molekülen untersucht, um so Informationen über die betrachteten Städte, Felder, Meere und andere Flächen zu gewinnen.

Durch die verschiedenen Datenanalysen erlauben die Bilder des höchst fortschrittlichen EnMAP Sensors somit eine Vielzahl von einzelnen Analysen in verschiedenen Feldern, wie zum Beispiel:

  • Phänomene und Auswirkungen des Klimawandels
  • Verfügbarkeit und Qualität von Wasser
  • Globale Veränderungen der Landnutzung
  • Verfügbarkeit von natürlichen Ressourcen
  • Biodiversität und Stabilität des Ökosystems
  • Naturkatastrophen und Risikoabschätzungen.

Auftraggeber

Da die OHB System AG über starke Fähigkeiten bei der Entwicklung von höchst anspruchsvollen optischen Systemen verfügt, wurde sie vom Raumfahrtmanagement des DLR mit der Realisierung des EnMAP Raumsegments beauftragt. Die OHB System AG ist daher sowohl für die Realisierung des neuartigen und anspruchsvollen Instruments als auch für die Satellitenplattform zuständig, die auf der des erfolgreichen SAR Lupe Systems basiert.

Status

Nach Abschluss der Entwicklungsphase im Herbst 2012 befindet sich das System nun in der Realisierung. Der Start des Satelliten ist für 2017/2018 geplant.

Abbildung: STDM der optischen Einheit des EnMAP Instruments in einem Reinraum am Standort München

EnMAP (Environmental Mapping and Analysis Program)
EnMAP (Environmental Mapping and Analysis Program)